Eyes and Ears

Throughout our lives on Earth, there will always be a chasm between what we see and hear with our physical bodies and that of the spiritual world.  As believers, Jesus taught us to “Abide in me as I abide in you.  Just as the branch cannot bear fruit by itself unless it abides in the vine, neither can you unless you abide in me.  I am the vine, you are the branches.  Those who abide in me and I in them bear much fruit, because apart from me you can do nothing. (Jn 15:1-5 NRSV).

This text has always seemed to me to be straight forward.  Too often, we try to do things for God that He hasn’t called us to do.  Maybe it’s the wrong time.  Perhaps He is working in ways we cannot see.  But the fact of the matter is when we try to do something (no matter how wonderful), if God isn’t involved, it won’t be as successful as it could have been.

As followers of Christ, we’re gifted with the Spirit of God.  God wants us to hear with spiritual ears and see with spiritual eyes.  Real ministry can take place when we put to death our carnal nature and listen or see what God has in mind for us.  However, our tendency is to allow our voice or our natural eyes to prevail.  Seeing people as God sees people is where I want to be.  How about you?

Paul wrote, “Put to death, therefore, whatever in you is earthly…”   What is it in your life that you need to crucify?

2 Responses to “Eyes and Ears”

  1. As I read and re-read your post, the song “Open the Eyes of My Heart” came to mind. If we could hold “love” for others in our heart always, it would not be difficult to see, hear, do God’s Will. Love for your neighbor, co-worker or family member – will undoubtedly move you to see, hear, and do good for them – Love is the ultimate gift that God gave us – Jesus – and sometimes I get mad or sad or frustrated and I know that if I haven’t spent time in communication with God, I will let those feelings take the lead – but when I have spent time with God – I can hear what He would rather me say or do – and some days it is SO difficult – I just want to do what I want to do because I want revenge or justice! But, when I have gone ahead and did things on my own – I totally fell on my face – or I totally missed an opportunity to be a witness… That is why God doesn’t say “turn off for a time what you feel you can’t handle” – He says “PUT IT TO DEATH!” Yes, he is very straightforward indeed!

Leave a Reply

