Goals 101

Make me to know your ways, O LORD;

teach me your paths.

Lead me in your truth and teach me,

for you are the God of my salvation;

for you I wait all the day long.  – Psalm 25:4-5 (ESV)

What’s your greatest desire in life?  Some would say to live a successful life and retire.  I’ve heard others say, “To see my kids grow to maturity and become successful.”  Sadly, some set goals of just getting through the day or the week.  How often do we hear, “Thank God it’s Friday” ? 

Is that what life is all about?  In this particular passage, David seems to set his goals much higher than getting to 5 o’clock on Friday.  I don’t hear the concept of retirement in his words.  Read it again slowly.

Make me know your ways.  Teach me your paths.   Lead me in your truth.  For you I wait.

David’s goals are all about what God has in store for him.  Maybe ours should be somewhat similar.  Could you honestly pray what David prays?

2 Responses to “Goals 101”

  1. Brother, we have human weaknesses. That said, I know for myself that my goal in life is to seek and adhere-to the things that God has instore for me. But, I fall short of that goal. What a wonderful world it would be if I could turn loose of control of my life and let God take the reins! God’s superior ablity and knowledge of my life, if I would listen and do, would take me farther than I can imagine! So, hte answer to your question is sadly no. But I strive to pray the prayer of David, and not to look at today or tomorrow as days to just get through!

    • Amen Larry! We live by grace (knowing we will never be good enough), while at the same time, understanding our responsibility to live a disciplined life.

Leave a Reply

