Faith vs Knowledge (6)

Behold, the virgin shall conceive and bear a son, and they shall call his name ‘Immanuel’   Is 7:14; Matt 1:23

Jesus said to him,…’Whoever has seen me has seen the Father.’  Jn 14:9

He (Jesus) is the image of the invisible God, the firstborn of all creation.  Col 1:15

Millenia after Peter declares his belief that Jesus is the Christ, the Son of the living God (cf. Matt 16:16), readers were once again asked to do something with Jesus.  Jesus made audacious claims (especially in regards to divinity).  We must then decide for ourselves.  Either Jesus was Lord, a liar, or a lunatic.  Those really are the only options.  What’s even more astounding is Jesus taught that humanity could have a personal relationship with God.  He speaks of another Counselor, a comforter, one who goes between mankind and God (cf John 14).  To quote Willard: “If there is such a God as this, it obviously has tremendous implications for ‘worldview’ issues and for individual lives – that is, it makes a huge difference in how we can and should live” (97).

Knowing God includes recognizing God through nature.  In Psalm 8, David declares, When I look at your heavens, the work of your fingers, the moon and the stars, which you have set in place, what is man that you are mindful of him, and the son of man that you care for him?  Perhaps you can think of other verses that point to the existence of God through nature.  Think about the transformation a caterpillar goes through to become a butterfly, the intricate details of a flower and how fertilization takes place.  It’s these and other things that lead Paul to declare, For what can be known about God is plain to them, because God has shown it to them (Rom 1:19).

Secondly, God can be known through one’s experiences.  My experiences include times of faith.  When I intentionally develop a relationship with God (through prayer, faith, loving others, etc.), I’ve found God’s promises to ring true.  Although relationships in my life have faltered because mankind is involved, God is the only constant.  Just as God was with Joshua, so He will be with us (Josh 1:5; Heb 13:5).  We’ll talk more about Christ in our lives next time.

What are your thoughts about knowing God – through nature?  experiences?  If one is never told about God, do they have an excuse?

4 Responses to “Faith vs Knowledge (6)”

  1. Someone asked my dad, point blank, why was he was so poor and physically broken when all he ever does is preach the Word of God? Does God not want him to live a better lifestyle and with health?

    My dad responded: “If I could tell you how happy I am with My God. I’ve never needed anything that He hasn’t supplied. I feel Him always with me. Even in those times when I’m frustrated and griping, I feel him slapping me around (chuckle, chuckle) – but I always know He is there and that He will never leave me.”

    You get to know one another. But what if “No one ever introduced me to God?” Will God judge those by their morals? Morals defined as they were 50 years ago or now? God’s Word says that the nature of children is what it takes to get to heaven.

    I know God by speaking with kids – of all ages. Most have such a beautiful heart, a trusting loving soul, and excitement and joy for life. There are some kids that this part of them has been hurt… and there too I see God…. And the compassion he expects us to have for all man kind. I could go on and on about all the places, people and things I see and feel Him. He is so amazing. I can see why the angels in heaven claim: “Holy! Holy! Holy!”

    • Larry L Says:

      Brother, God is alive all around us. Everything we see, touch or experience. When I see the birth of a baby of any type, or see seeds grow, or the transformation of tadpoles into frogs. All of these simple things are God in nature. My own personal experience turning to Jesus as my one and only Savior, from the darkness that came before knowing Jesus personally.. In all things , I see God’s handiwork. If through some extreme circumstances, one never learns about the love and grace that is God’s, out of the darkness some light will shine. It may be only a simple act of love or a morsel of food, but each will feed the soul. In these rare instances, God might not be recconized but it is his handiwork none the less. In this day and age, with all the access to books, TV,radio and the printed word, ignorance is a chosen outcome. We will all be judged for what we know or don’t know. I don’t believe that one can be saved through ignorrance.

    • M,
      Your Father is a wise man. In regards to your question about morals, shouldn’t we let God set the standard? In other words, it really doesn’t matter whether we discuss morals from 50 years ago or now. Being holy (as God defines it) is still the same.

      You wrote, “God’s Word says that the nature of children is what it takes to get to heaven.” Are you sure? I remember Jesus speaking of the faith of children. But the nature? I think kids are just as “warped” as you and I.

      Experiential faith (or knowing God through our experiences) is a tremendous blessing. I look forward to looking face to face and declaring, Holy! Holy! Holy!

Leave a Reply

