Usama Bin Laden’s Death and a Christian’s Response

National news sources reported just hours ago (Sunday afternoon U.S. time) that U.S. special forces have killed Usama Bin Laden in an operation in Pakistan.  Bin Laden was the mastermind of Al Qaeda and responsible for the planning of the devastation on 9/11.  At the time, President George W. Bush vowed to find and bring Bin Laden to justice “dead or alive”.  It seems President Obama received information about Bin Laden’s whereabouts in August of 2010 and ordered the “fire strike” to kill what many Americans to be their most hated enemy.  President Obama addressed the American people and reported “Justice is served”.

Upon hearing the news, exuberant crowds gathered near the white house, at military academies, and in Times Square in New York City.  Chants of “USA, USA” were heard among others singing “God Bless America”.  In interviews, some claimed this to be the greatest day of national history.  Others maintained this “was like July 4th” (an obvious time of celebration for Americans).  After all, Bin Laden was – in American’s minds – the epitome of evil.

But what about Christians?  What should our response be?  Jesus told us to pray for those who persecute us and love our enemies.  (Mt 5:44)  I’m wondering how many prayed for Bin Laden and loved him.  If we are to be about being peacemakers (cf Mt 5:9), what does our rejoicing say over someone’s death who was created in God’s image?

* Another post regarding a Christian’s response is found here.

Thoughts?

4 Responses to “Usama Bin Laden’s Death and a Christian’s Response”

  1. Annette Says:

    Mike, I agree completely with what you have written. I, too, prayed for this man. Did I truly love him? I pray so. I never met him, so I honestly cannot say. I have prayed for his salvation for years.

    Today has been a day of great sadness for me. Not only from the “terrible waste” one friend called Bin Laden’s death (& life), but also because my best friend’s mom passed away last night. Two people, one Muslim and full of hate, one Christian and full of love. The contrast of the two could not be greater in my mind.

    Mom Barbara, as I called her, set a great example for so many of us by her quiet and gentle spirit. She was always a gracious lady, whose love for our Lord Jesus showed in the quiet acts of love and mercy she did every day. Even as she lay dying, her concern was for her husband and children, not for herself. Such selflessness is rare in our day. Not many will know her name on earth, but I believe her name is well known in heaven.

    Osama Bin Laden’s name was well known on the earth, but not known in heaven. As my friend Terry said, “What a terrible waste. The resources he had could have been used to accomplish great things for the poor of his nation and the world. Had he turned to Jesus, think how many could have been saved.” Yet, for whatever reason, Bin Laden never responded to the call of Christ. He allowed hate to so consume him that people have celebrated his death rather than mourn him. I mourn the loss of what could have been the Paul of this age, the wasted life of hatred and anger.

  2. Thanks for reading Annette. I’m sorry for your loss. It’s been interesting to hear people’s response to Bin Laden’s death. I’m a proud American. More importantly, I desire to follow Christ. One is not based upon the other. Many emotions for many people today. Blessings!

  3. Many people have lost their lives over an angry quest for man to right a wrong with the blood of Bin Laden. Some continue to loose not only their physical lives but also their eternal lives. I am almost speechless! I have never seen bin Laden as a bigger threat than Satan himself, and I know that God is much bigger than Satan( (Heavenly father I praise your power and Glory) I have no idea where Bin Laden was with his beliefs, only God knows. I do know that millions of people have been affected and more young people will continue to be affected as historians document this event for future generations. This is where deep sadness comes to me, Dear father I pray for those that are blinded by the lies of Satan, and who do not truly know your love. I also pray not to be deceived and overtaken with vengeance, as I know that your ways are better than mine. I pray for the salvation of those who seek vengeance, and those who will be deceived by it. Because of your son, that died on the cross for us, we can be forgiven, his example is our example and it is in your sons name that I pray! Amen!

Leave a Reply

