Summer Priorities

Summertime is somewhat of a nuisance around here.  Don’t get me wrong.  I love the warmer weather, more time outside, etc.  But the summer always presents new challenges.  Most everything in town revolves around the school calendar.  After all, regardless of what the gurus say, Summer starts the day school lets out.  And it concludes after the county fair and rodeo when school resumes.  It’s during those 2+ months that families take vacations.  Businesses work with “skeleton crews” in order to cover for those employees gone.  In fact, for those taking care of their jobs with the addition of others, there is even more stress.  Or what about those who don’t have others cover for them?  They return to much more work and spend weeks or months just catching up from their vacation.

Church attendance takes a slight drop during these months as well.  Sundays are used to pack, travel, or recover from the recent outing.  Our church actually plans for the Summer months by doing things different.  We’ll spend more time outside.  We’ll study various topics on a much more laid back level.  After all, it’s Summer.

Ecclesiastes points out there is a season for everything (3:1-8).  Time ebbs and flows.  Exercising at the gym 7 days a week isn’t only foolish.  It’s also not good for the body.  Our spiritual lives are somewhat similar.  One can read the Bible non-stop from cover to cover.  However, doing so without stopping to “chew on the meat” is not only foolish.  It’s also not good for the soul.

We all need vacations.  We need rest and relaxation from time to time – even within our spiritual lives.  But rest doesn’t mean ceasing to function.  Rest doesn’t mean to avoid progress altogether.  A vacation is to get away from it all and reassess priorities.  I hope you’ll join me this Summer by resting, relaxing, and asking God “What’s next?”  Allow Him to give you direction.  Set some goals.  And find the resources to help you accomplish those goals.

In the mean time, don’t forget about your discipleship.  Don’t get so busy with stuff that you put the importance of fellowship down on the priority list.  Hope to see you soon.  Lets see what God has in mind!

2 Responses to “Summer Priorities”

  1. Larry L Says:

    Brother, I am guilty of “lost time”. My life is very scheduled around work, family and church. Sometimes I don’t manage my time as well as I should. In the process I fall behind in everything. Sometimes I get my priorities mixed-up. Thank God for His grace! I don’t have anyone to “take-up the slack”, it all falls on my shoulders. If I don’t get it done, it don’t get done! It’s at these times that I rely heavy on my faith. At these times I realize just how much God does for me that I can’t do for myself! God let’s me keep on putting one foot in front of the other! When it all boils down, this is the one thing that I ask God for. So I say to anyone who dosen’t believe that God answers prayers, just look around and see what He is doing for you everyday! It is by God’s grace that we don’t have to go through this life alone. So, when life gets too busy, I just let God do what He does, and I try to do what I can.

Leave a Reply

