Forgiveness

Have you ever marveled at God’s grace?  I mean more than thankfulness, more than gratefulness in passing.  I’m speaking of being in awe – of marveling at something you and I don’t deserve.  As I grow in Christ, I realize more and more of my inability and impotence.  I have developed a greater appreciation for Christ’s life and sacrifice.  It’s grace that still amazes me.

1 John 1:9 reads, If we confess our sins, he (Jesus) is faithful and just to forgive us our sins and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness.  Notice the conditional clause – If we confess.  If we acknowledge our sins, God will give us peace.  If we turn from our rebellion, God will offer redemption.   But it’s only if we confess our sins!

Blessed is the one whose transgression is forgiven, whose sin is covered.  Blessed is the man against whom the LORD counts no iniquity, and in whose spirit there is no deceit.  For when I kept silent, my bones wasted away through my groaning all day long.  For day and night your hand was heavy upon me; my strength was dried up as by the heat of summer.

I acknowledged my sin to you, and I did not cover my iniquity; I said, “I will confess my transgressions to the LORD,” and you forgave the iniquity of my sin. Ps 32 1-5 ESV

David says it well.  When we keep silent, there is no peace.  When we fail to acknowledge our sin, God allows the consequences of sin to remain.  You remember what the punishment for sin is right?  Check out Romans 6:23.  It’s when we recognize our sin and God’s ability to forgive, that God frees us.  What is it that you need to come clean about today?  Will you allow God to bring you peace?  Don’t wait until tomorrow.

2 Responses to “Forgiveness”

  1. Larry L. Says:

    Brother, your comments touch me deeply! I must confess that judgement against others is my biggest sin. I qiuckly see faults in other people’s lives, when in fact, it is my own faults that are being msgnified! I pray to my Lord Jesus to give me the strength to overcome in my own life, the faults I see in others. God is always faithful to answers prayers, and for this I am thakful!

Leave a Reply

