Pictures Through The Parables

Your kingdom come, your will be done, on earth as it is in heaven.  Matt 6:10 (ESV)

Jesus was teaching His followers what they should pray for and speaks of the “kingdom” of God.  Most people think of kingdom being synonymous with reign or rule.  In fact, Webster’s College Dictionary defines kingdom as “a state or government having a king or queen as its head.”  Today, we might think of the United Kingdom.  But what did Jesus have in mind?

Moltmann looks first of all at the parables in Mark 4.  The parables of a sower and that of a mustard seed seem to focus on germination, growth, and fruit.  Moltmann maintains, “Because the kingdom of God is nothing other than the new creation of all things for eternal life.”  It’s important to note that life is restored in the spring when something happens inside.  That something grows throughout the following season(s) and blooms – sometimes several times – producing beauty.  The kingdom of God must have something to do with beauty.

We then turn our attention to Luke 15.  Luke records Jesus’ teachings on sheep, a coin, and a wayward son.  More importantly, though, these things were once lost and are now found.  We notice that only upon finding what was lost can rejoicing take place.  A shepherd leaves 99 sheep behind to find the 1.  A woman forgets about her other coins for a time to find the one lost.  And a Father considers his son not only lost but dead.  Upon his return, the Father declares, “He was lost, and is found.”  And they began to celebrate.

The kingdom is about new beginnings, new growth, new opportunities.  Moltmann offers, “When we experience God’s kingdom in this way, we discover afresh the wealth of our potentialities for living.”  Thoughts?  Does this affect your picture of Jesus?

2 Responses to “Pictures Through The Parables”

  1. I love this post. I’ve read it 10 times at least. God is so good. He takes my wretchedness and makes it beauty and tells me I am a daughter of a King..

    “when we experience God’s kingdom in this way, we discover afresh the wealth of our potentialities for living” — and the sad part is that I always remember what He’s forgiven me, but not always do I discover my potential in what He has created me to do or what He has saved me to do – here on earth –

    I think of so many times that I say “Lord use me” but this “vessle”, this saved life… is it God’s temple? Do I empty myself and allow God to enter and show me what my potential through His love can be for His glory…

    wow.. sigh… wow..

Leave a Reply

