Words Mean Something (7)

But understand this, that in the last days there will come times of difficulty.  For people will be lovers of self, lovers of money, proud, arrogant, abusive, disobedient to their parents, ungrateful, unholy, heartless, unappeasable, slanderous, without self-control, brutal, not loving good, treacherous, reckless, swollen with conceit, lovers of pleasure rather than lovers of God, having the appearance of godliness, but denying its power.  Avoid such people.  For among them are those who creep into households and capture weak women, burdened with sins and led  astray by various passions, always learning and never able to arrive at a knowledge of the truth.  Just as Jannes and Jambres opposed Moses, so these men also oppose the truth, men corrupted in mind and disqualified regarding the faith.  But they will not get very far, for their folly will be plain to all, as was that of those two men. 2 Tim 3:1-8 ESV

Are we in the last days?

3 Responses to “Words Mean Something (7)”

  1. Leah Alexander Says:

    My comment is going to be longer than your post. Sorry about that, but KISS isn’t in my nature.

    I understand your question. Is it the last days in reference to prophecy? The first thought that comes to mind is, every day could be the last day. Even if we don’t live here until Jesus returns, there is a great possibility today could be the last for any of us so staying prepared is the key to that situation. In the broader sense of your question I don’t have a response. I don’t know-Jesus didn’t even know when the day would be, He just said stay prepared and He would return.

    Now I have some responses to the scripture.

    Every day is somebody’s last day. For others it is their last days. Through out human history each and every one of those things listed in this passage has been true. We can’t take chances on could it be, we just need to face the truth, it could be and possibly will be. We can’t wait till tomorrow to decide to be prepared. Today is the day to be prepared. If we make it to tomorrow-then tomorrow we best be prepared. I ask you a few things about Revelation for some research I was doing. That same week Dave started a series about the book and prophecy. I missed some because of the illnesses, but I studied closely with what he had given us in the workbook. I was actually in tears crying out to the Lord-for years I’ve thought I’m in big trouble because I truly don’t understand it all and no matter who tries to teach it to me I truly do not understand. And that includes the questions I ask you. You knew exactly what answers I needed and like always you explained it really siimple. But I was frustrated because I thought “I’m never going to get this.” Dumb is ok in science, math and baseball, but we are talking my future here and I really was stressed. Then it dawned on me, (love how the Lord sends those light bulbs) every day is the last day. We get extensions. If tomorrow comes we got an extension, but today is the last days-the last day and it’s all we need to focus on. 🙂

    As Christians we can read and accept what is in this scripture/passage you shared. We can live it. Sometimes we may make mistakes and leak until we can get our holes fixed as we mature in our faith and journey. But we can strive until we do live it as we are taught in scripture. However, in the long run we will encounter the consequences of others choices. When that happens it’s not easy to get on the spiritual path that all should be on. Even IF we want to avoid those people because they do cause problems in our lives, it doesn’t mean we are going to avoid them. They will find us and they will test us in every spiritual belief we have.

    “But they will not get very far, for their folly will be plain to all, as was that of those two men.” They may go farther than we would like them to go at times. They may challenge us in our faith a lot more than we really want them to.

    I know you ask a question, but in response to the passage you chose I am ending with this statement. That passage I always thought meant it’s a command or lesson for us. Simply put-one thing. In reality, it is two things. It tells us what we are to do as Christians. And it warns us not all people are going to do that and they are going to be a problem. That means there is a conflict and with every conflict we must have coping skills to stand strong.

    Ok, I’m done. 🙂 Good post. Thanks for sharing.

    • Good thoughts Leah. I’m reminded Paul writes, “Be prepared in and out of season.” John writes, “Test the spirits. Not all are from God.”

      The purpose of this post was to get some to think – seems as if that was successful. 🙂 As the Day of the Lord approaches, as followers of Christ we must be intentional about distinguishing the things of God and those that are false. Remember wolves in sheeps clothing?

  2. Because we don’t know, I want to be prepared all the time, guess that Armour comes in handy!

Leave a Reply

