God’s Plan

Before I formed you in the womb I knew you,

and before you were born I consecrated you;

I appointed you a prophet to the nations.  Jeremiah 1:4-5

There are times in my life where I hang out at these two verses.  I appreciate God telling Jeremiah about his call to speak to the nations.  But what always slows me down is the first two phrases.

Before I formed you in the womb I knew you,

God knew Jeremiah before he was known.  Before Jeremiah’s mother and father had the chance to hold their son, God KNEW the child – from the inside out.  God knew what his favorite toy would be.  He knew the favorite color that would be determined years later, and what his likes/dislikes would be with food.  God knew everything about Jeremiah before he was formed in the womb.

And if He knew Jeremiah like that, He also knew us like that.  Does that make you stop and think?  God isn’t surprised by any decision you make.  He loves you.  He wants the best for you.  And although we don’t know what the future holds, God does.   WOW!

The second phrase is just as powerful.

and before you were born I consecrated you;

God had a plan for Jeremiah’s life well before Jeremiah took his first breath.  And not just any plan.  This plan meant Jeremiah would be consecrated.  A synonym would be sanctified.  In other words, he would be set apart for what God’s plan was.  No one else could or should even attempt to do what Jeremiah was called to do.  That was God’s plan for Jeremiah.

And we’re no different.  Although God gives us free will to choose whether we will or we won’t follow His will, God knows that peace will only come when we walk step in step with what He wants for us.  When you and I cave in to the world around us, it grieves God.  He has a plan for you.  Are you following the plan?  What needs to change?

For you, God’s plan might be working at the bank.  It might be remaining single.  Maybe it’s not as big as speaking to the nations.  But it’s God’s plan for your life.  And the quicker you understand that, the better off you’ll be.

Don’t allow the world to force you into its mold.  Don’t settle for something less than God’s plan.

3 Responses to “God’s Plan”

  1. You wrote: “God knows that peace will only come when we walk step in step with what He wants for us. When you and I cave in to the world around us, it grieves God. He has a plan for you.”

    I know that when I have caved into the world around me, sometimes I am so beat up (spiritually weak) I do not think I can get back up. But peace does come when we align our steps with God. And I love the following text from Ephesians because we need Godly relationships that will pray for us – and remind us to search out what God has called us to do.
    Thank you for doing that through this post.

    “I have not stopped giving thanks for you, remembering you in my prayers. I keep asking that the God of our Lord Jesus Christ, the glorious Father, may give you the spirit of wisdom and revelation so that you may know him better. I pray that the eyes of your heart may be enlightened in order that you may know the hope to which he has called you, the riches of his glorious inheritance in his holy people and his incomparable great power for us who believe.”
    Ephesians 1:17-19

  2. Leah Alexander Says:

    🙂 Yes, it’s amazing. And Ephesians 1:17-19 is also amazing.

Leave a Reply

