A Thorn (3)

So to keep me from becoming conceited because of the surpassing greatness of the revelations, a thorn was given me in the flesh, a messenger of Satan to harass me, to keep me from becoming conceited.  Three times I pleaded with the Lord about this, that it should leave me.  But he said to me, ‘My grace is sufficient for you, my power is made perfect in weakness, so that the power of Christ may rest upon me.  For the sake of Christ, then, I am content with weaknesses, insults, hardships, persecutions, and calamities.  For when I am weak, then I am strong.  2 Cor 12:7-10

We love to have our prayers answered in our ways and in our time.  But what about when God chooses to do otherwise?  I can’t say I like the answer “No!” very much.  But I really don’t like hearing, “Wait” or “Not right now.”  I want things in my time.  In my ways.  And because of God’s omniscience, He knows best.  I’m so thankful for his grace.

Paul had prayed not once, but three times (or consistently).  And God answered, “Deal with it.”  Okay.  That sounds harsh and that’s not really what He said.  But you get the point.  There are things God allows in our lives to draw us closer to Him.  And sometimes those things are BIG, HAIRY, thorns.  They hurt going in.  They cause pain, may cause us to bleed, and they take some time to heal.  But there are times where God says, “My grace is sufficient.”

So the question becomes, do you believe God has your best interest at heart?  Do you believe God really loves you like He says?  Don’t be quick to answer.  It’s easy to say “Yes” and then when tough times come ask, “Why me?”  But a better question is, “Why not me?  or you?”  We talk about thorns, complain about thorns, cry about pain, suffering, and turmoil.  We want to get out of pain as quickly as possible.  But God says, “My grace is sufficient.”  This might be a good time to read James 1:2-4.

How many times have you thrown your hands in the air and yelled, “It’s just not fair!!!”  “You don’t know what I deal with!”  “I can’t do anymore.”  And God says, “My grace is sufficient.”  What gives Him the right?  Let me say it this way.  Nails are bigger than thorns.  God came in the flesh and allowed His death on a cross.  God knows pain and suffering.  He suffered Himself – more than we could ever imagine.  What gives us the right to complain or whine?  Be blessed!

3 Responses to “A Thorn (3)”

  1. You wrote: “How many times have you thrown your hands in the air and yelled, “It’s just not fair!!!” “You don’t know what I deal with!” “I can’t do anymore.” And God says, “My grace is sufficient.” —

    I think – no – I know – that God knows better and far more ahead than our circumstances. Him saying “My grace is sufficient”, is a kind and loving way of saying “you don’t understand what is happening right now, but you will one day” and then hugging us with His Holy Spirit.

    And BIG point here is that we are actually in TUNE with the Holy Spirit and that God is actually speaking! There’s just so much… I have really enjoyed reading – thanks!

  2. Leah Alexander Says:

    I’ve tried that a few times. I’ve been known to pull a Jonah stunt a few times. I’ve tried the Moses escape plan too, “But Lord I can’t….” I don’t recall the Lord being harsh with me, but I’ve often felt a spiritual grin and a lot of love from Him no matter what form of tantrum I felt like pulling. He loves me in spite of myself. I get a lot of Holy Spirit hugs. They are the best in the world. 🙂
    I won’t lie, I will complain at points. And I have been known to ask “Why me?” I mean why did He choose to love me? He knew I’d be a royal brat who wouldn’t always do everything right. Hmmmm, amazing, “Why me?’

Leave a Reply

