A Thorn (4)

So to keep me from becoming conceited because of the surpassing greatness of the revelations, a thorn was given me in the flesh, a messenger of Satan to harass me, to keep me from becoming conceited.  Three times I pleaded with the Lord about this, that it should leave me.  But he said to me, ‘My grace is sufficient for you, my power is made perfect in weakness, so that the power of Christ may rest upon me.  For the sake of Christ, then, I am content with weaknesses, insults, hardships, persecutions, and calamities.  For when I am weak, then I am strong.  2 Cor 12:7-10

Paul has definitely changed his outlook on life, particularly the “thorn” in his life.  I’ve often prayed that I’d be content with weaknesses, hardships, and calamities.  But all too often, I go back to wondering, “How long O God?  How much do I have to do?”  Praying for God’s grace in this area of my life is customary now.  I can’t honestly say I’m content.  I don’t like them.  I whine, cry, and belly ache that they’d just go away.

But like Paul reminds us, the challenge is to KNOW God has our best interest at heart.  And even the bad things that happen (cf. Genesis 50:20) are used for God’s glory.  I must be willing to be refined, to be purified.  And sometimes becoming like Jesus is painful.  My flesh must be exposed, excised, and done away with.  May it be so!

4 Responses to “A Thorn (4)”

  1. Yes, may it be so. Often that is difficult to say at the time of the blood dripping from the thorn’s – I think that our emotion at the time of pain is part of that relationship with God; our “human” relationship with our heavenly Father – a connection occurs – conversation – and after the conversation there is a new closeness – God’s surpassing wisdom is our lives

  2. “in” our lives –

    • The problem I have within the “conversation” is often I’m wailing so loudly that God can’t get a word in, comfort, love, etc. I think that’s why it’s so important to prepare for the hardships before they come. Our perception (knowing God’s goodness) makes all the difference in the world.

  3. Leah Alexander Says:

    My perception is the Lord has it covered. Wailing can lead to a lot of delays in getting a problem solved.

Leave a Reply

