Bookstores in Heaven

What’s your idea of heaven?  For me, it’s a Heath blizzard from DQ, Rangers baseball, and bookstores.  Of course, I’m joking.  But there’s something about bookstores.

One of the things I don’t regret doing in life is reading to my kids from an early age.  The two oldest (22 and 17 respectively) are avid readers.  The youngest (9 and the only boy) has yet to get an affinity for reading.  He’ll read when grounded, when encouraged, or for school homework.  But he’s all boy and being outside is what makes him happy.  For the most part, I’m not partial to what they read.  They were/are raised in the Church so the Bible would be something I would choose for them.  But novels, short stories, and non-fiction works would make them well-rounded people.

Books are fun.  Movies are great but books are much better.  I realize that’s somewhat of an over-generalization, but typically it’s true.  There’s so much more that can go into books.  When the reader is asked or required to use his or her imagination or a thought process, something magical takes place.  Recently, I haven’t had the opportunity to read for fun.  For example, these are books that don’t require much thinking.  They move forward at a rapid pace.  And before you know it, you’re nearing the conclusion.  There’s usually no point other than entertainment.  But they’re fun.  That’s it.

On the other hand, there are books that attempt to convince the reader of something.  “This will change your life” is included in some way in the preface or introduction.  Honestly, sometimes it does and sometimes it’s just a marketing ploy.  These are what I call “deeper” books.  They take more time to read, percolate, and come to a conclusion.  These are books I read for education, career, etc.

I’ve had friends that set annual goals for reading.  For instance, a friend set a goal of reading 60 books in one year, another 35, etc.  I’ve never set goals like that but perhaps it’s beneficial.  Anything that might keep me disciplined is welcomed.  One more thought:  I think a healthy reading hobby should include some of these and some of those – some fun and some reading for education.  By the way, saying you’re not a reader is a cop-out.  Every one can learn.  And everyone should!  If you don’t know how to read, start to learn today.  By the way, what are you doing here?  🙂

I’ll attempt to give you a few book reviews on the blog – hopefully enough information that’s intriguing but not enough where you don’t have to read it.  So what are you reading?  Is it for fun or something you hope will change your life?  Here are some I’m working on:

A. W. Tozer  The Crucified Life  – devotional, deep, really enjoying this book

Alan and Debra Hirsch Untamed  – book on discipleship, missional, Church stuff, good so far

Millard Erickson  Christian Theology  – a systematic theology book for a class, as deep as it sounds

Leonard Sweet What Matters Most – one of my favorite authors, book about community, Church stuff, challenging

I know some of you read some really good stuff.  So here’s your chance.  Give me something to read!  Go.

3 Responses to “Bookstores in Heaven”

  1. Over the summer, for fun and entertainment, I read The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho. I was surprisingly pleased with its simplistic depth – yep – that’s the best way to describe it and if anyone else reads it, (fun and fast read) I would really like to know what you got out of it 🙂

    For fun I also read The Help by Kathryn Stockett because like you said, the books are always better than the movies.

    For learning I read, Sun Stand Still by Steven Furtick, re-read Fearfully and Wonderfully Made, by Philip Yancey and am reading Run with the Horses by Eugene Peters. All great, great, great books that you read slowly like you might eat a fillet minion! For Run with the Horses, I read the book of Jeremiah first and I think I’ll read it again after I finish Run with the Horses. Highly recommended 🙂

    I also listened to a couple of learning CD books: Building Relationships (stategies for how to work with people) and The Power of Purpose (unlocking potential, focus, concentration, memory – stuff like that) — I know, a tad corny, but sometimes it’s good fill your head with tid bits of advice on quite drives when your brain wants to go on over drive with everything else going on in life. Good stuff.

    So on Monday I start school and my reading will slow way down 😦

  2. Leah Alexander Says:

    The Bible has always been my favorite book so I read it a lot.
    I use to read for entertainment a lot. I don’t do that anymore. I just don’t have time for it.
    I agree reading to children is very important.

Leave a Reply

