My Heart Hurts

For those of you who know me well, I ask that you bear with me.  For those of you who don’t, here’s some of my heart:

I believe whole-heartedly part of what it means to be created in the image of God is to be concerned about community.  In my mind, community means relationship, first of all with God, then with others.  Jesus Christ says it this way:  You shall love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind and with all your strength.  The second (commandment) is this:  You shall love your neighbor as yourself.  There is no other commandment greater than these.  (Mark 12:30-31 ESV)

Jesus makes the point that everything hinges on loving God and loving others – community.  For my own benefit, I like to say it this simple way:  To love God is to love others.  To love others is to love God.  We need a relationship with God of course.  But we also need one another.  God places people in our lives who allow us opportunities to grow.  For that reason, community/relationship is so important.

If relationship is what God has in mind, don’t you think Satan would like nothing better than being divisive within those relationships?  Of course, he wants our relationship with God to be severed (Cf. Genesis 3).  But we often forget that he attempts to drive wedges within every relationship possible.  He destroys relationships from the inside out.  That means he gets involved in the little things, in things that don’t seem to matter at first.  But the little things add up and become big things.  The big things often seem to become insurmountable.  And much too often relationships are destroyed.

Please hear this:  Relationships are fragile!  Relationships are fragile!  RELATIONSHIPS ARE FRAGILE!  Don’t think this can’t happen to you.  Satan wants to cause dissention in every way he can.  And he begins with relationships.  Until we understand that, we’ll never experience peace in our families.  In our marriages.  In our communities.  In our individual lives.  If we’re not intentional about realizing this truth, Satan continues to win battle by battle.  And God grieves.

Don’t be a casualty.  Don’t allow Satan to destroy your relationship with God or with anyone else.  We live in a broken world where broken people hurt other broken people.  It’s only through Christ Jesus redemption and restoration can take place.  My friends, this is what we should be about!  Love God.  Love others.  Receive grace.  Give grace.  Be concerned about what God is concerned about – relationship.

 

2 Responses to “My Heart Hurts”

  1. Diane Chilson Says:

    We are so blessed that we have a Pastor that understands this and is passionate about teaching it!

    “I believe whole-heartedly part of what it means to be created in the image of God is to be concerned about community. In my mind, community means relationship, first of all with God, then with others.”

    Thank you so much for all you do! I am blessed to have a better understanding of this, I have learned how much I can love people and how much they can love me. Blessed to be out of my shell!

  2. Groaning, a deep, deep hurt in your heart – in who you are – God hears us and he helps us if we are willing. When you said fragile, I cringed at the thought of Satan prowling around my fragile relationships with my husband, my sons… Everyone I know. But I don’t think about it this fact DAILY as I should – Satan is a liar and wants me dying so that I don’t do God’s work and finally dead and forever away from God and he will use any and all possible means to accomplish this. We are in a spiritual battle daily; we cannot put this fact in the back of our minds not for one more moment. Eternity depends on it. Thank you for this reminder brother – much love and hugs.

Leave a Reply

