God Help Us

It’s a national election year.  I’ve always had an affinity for politics – it’s part of what makes me strange I guess.  I’m so much of a nerd that I have watched political party conventions from years past and have not missed any this year (I’ve recorded speeches I haven’t been able to watch live.).  Although I’m pretty firm in my beliefs, I try to have an open mind with those whom I can’t find much common ground.  It’s how I learn best.  Yes, I watch Fox News.  But I also tune into MSNBC and CNN.  During the conventions, I get frustrated with talking heads and end up on C-SPAN.  In other words, why would you expect to learn anything by always conversing with people who agree with you?  If that were the case, it would be a pretty boring world.

That said, I mentioned to my wife last night I can’t think of a time people were so divided in opinions.  I realize there has always been a proverbial gap between those on the far right and those on the far left.  But it seems the divide has been enlarged so that even those who weren’t considered “far anything” have refused to come to the table with an open mind.  There will always be a minority who consider themselves a third-party, independent, undecided, etc.  But many, I think, have already decided how they’ll vote – or at least lean a certain way.

What’s intriguing to me is how people choose to vote.  Perhaps they have one issue that is close to their heart ie. small government, pro-life vs. pro-choice, Don’t ask; Don’t tell, etc.  On the other hand, if you listen closely and wade through the verbage, you might be able to pick up on their real reasons.  For example, people may not be educated on the real issues.  But they’ll choose to vote for someone because (in their mind) they relate to one candidate more than the other.  Those who have survived on little demonize those who have much.  Those who have much consider those with little lazy.  Although the “race card” would be an appropriate part of this conversation, I’m not going there. You get the idea.

How many people only pay attention to leaders during election years?  How many choose to be informed?  How many people are cynical, bury their heads in the sand, and say,”It is what it is”?  Here’s my challenge:  1)  Inform yourself – not just during election years or when something extreme happens, but on a daily basis.  2) Don’t believe everything you hear.  3) Do your research and seek the truth.  4) Don’t demonize those who think differently.  Of course, this will take effort.  But in the end, you’ll be much better off.  And so will we all.  May God bless our great nation not because of who we are but because of His goodness.

Leave a Reply

