Redeemed

Great Bible study this morning.  It’s so good to hear what God is doing in men’s lives.

What does it mean to be poured out?

What does it mean to be filled?

Why is this a constant battle between spiritual things and our flesh?

I was reminded of Jesus’ words from the cross.  When Jesus had received the sour wine, he said, ‘It is finished,’ and bowed his head and gave up his spirit (Jn 19:30 ESV).  So what was finished?  What was finished was what He came to do.  Jesus Christ – God incarnate – came to live among us (Mt 1:23), to display the Father’s will (Jn 14:9), to crush Satan’s head (Gen. 3:15), to conquer sin (Heb. 4:15), and to offer true life (Jn 10:10).  “It is finished” means I don’t have to allow the power of sin to control me anymore.  Christ has destroyed its power.  Should we go on sinning then?  May it never be my brothers.  To do so would devalue the cross.  Paul said we put to death the old man and live (Rom 5).  Don’t go back to a yoke of slavery (Gal 5).

There is therefore now no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus (Rom 8:1 ESV).  Can I get an AMEN?

2 Responses to “Redeemed”

  1. To be poured out – I imagine (quite literally) my thoughts, my language, my abilities, my feelings, all of what compiles my personality; the reasons why I say – and be – and do – all of it – is exiting my body like an exorcism without all the violence (because I’m trying to really imagine and feel this pouring out you speak of) . . and what remains? A vessel: A mouth, a heart, ears, feet, a body – the moldable flesh.

    To be filled –with the Holy Ghost, God, SPIRIT… is to have Jesus living IN me and THROUGH me – that vessel and all its parts. If I say I am filled with the Spirit, the vessel will confirm it.

    So why is there a constant battle between spiritual things and my flesh? My flesh thrives on carnal senses, on gratification and fulfillment for ME and not for the labor of gaining others for Christ, not for the efforts it takes to build relationships, not for the drive to educate instead of hoard… and it goes on and on because it’s easier to just…. Not.

    Jesus, as you said, came to display the Father’s will – and now He is pouring into us – but only if we pour out ourselves first – and when we do – we should expect that there will be that constant battle.

    Thanks for sharing your class and always challenging me to think deeper! Love ya!

Leave a Reply

