A Note About Leadership

All too often, we have in our mind leadership takes place in the sense of leading from the front.  The idea is in 1 Corinthians 11:1.  Be imitators of me, as I am of Christ.  (Follow)

Perhaps an example would be helpful.  As parents, we often lead our children from the front.  “Do what I say because I’m Dad.  That’s why!”

Leadership also happens at times from behind.  Again, a quote from Paul.  You then, my child, be strengthened by the grace that is in Christ Jesus, and what you have heard from me in the presence of many witnesses entrust to faithful men who will be able to teach others also.  2 Timothy 2:1-2 (Encouragement – sometimes from afar)

Again an example from parenting: I’ve attempted to pour character and integrity into my children.  But eventually, they have a “free will” to make their own choices.  I must now cheer them on and hope they’ve learned lessons in the past.

Finally, leadership at times requires walking hand in hand or side by side.  Throughout the Gospels, how many times does Jesus say Come let us go?  We’re told the only way we can understand love is to understand how Christ loves(d) us.  In other words, He didn’t ask us to do anything He wasn’t willing to do Himself.  Are you willing to drink the cup?  Christ walked hand in hand with those He called. (Side by side)

Example:  Let’s go “tackle” this thing together.  This scenario of leadership often gains more respect because I don’t ask them to do anything I’m not willing to do myself.

Here’s the point:  Don’t think you can’t lead from behind or from the side.  In fact, often times the most relevant and successful leaders are leading from those places.  Don’t wait until you’re acknowledged before you lead.  As followers/disciples, we’re called to lead.  It’s what we do.  Leading from one place today doesn’t mean I won’t lead from somewhere else tomorrow.  People change, relationships change, scenarios and variables change.  It’s important we discern how to lead in each opportunity we’re given.

Thoughts?

 

4 Responses to “A Note About Leadership”

  1. Diane Chilson Says:

    Discernment and obedience comes to mind. We need to know when to follow, when to lead, and when to support. All are needed and no one needs to be more important than the other in discipleship. We need to stay open to whatever God needs us to do, We are blessed by any of these responsibilities.

  2. Yes, there is a time and place for everything. There are also different gifts that are given to everyone individually. What stuck out at me was: “Don’t wait until you’re acknowledged to lead”.
    Those words are motivation to my ears – but without prayer, I can do a lot of harm and not good.
    My prayer will be that since I am always changing and hopefully growing, that I can recognize what my gifts are, what they are becoming and to be brave enough to use them in leadership (whatever the area) but, never without seeking a discerning heart.
    And sometimes I feel strong enough to pray this prayer, but sometimes I feel weak and I am so glad for mature leaders who love me and pray for me and lead me by example.
    Thanks for the boost!

    • Actually, I should have written, “You’ve been acknowledged – just maybe not by man.” 🙂 God/Jesus surely has acknowledged us as leaders huh? Pray and act.

Leave a Reply

