Quotes (13)

Are you enduring life or embracing life? – Pastor Mark McKinney

We can’t die for anyone’s sins, but we can embrace selflessness, sacrifice, and suffering. – Alan Hirsch

Faithful are the wounds of a friend; profuse are the kisses of an enemy.  – King Solomon

Mondays are a gift from God. – Pastor Mark McKinney

 

Anyone out there?

2 Responses to “Quotes (13)”

  1. I love your quotes – I laugh out loud and then become very serious and then laugh out loud again and then sigh. It’s fun. So here’s what I thought of yours: 
    I want to say that I both embrace and endure my life – the difficult part is to embrace it ALL the time.
    I try to paint a picture of “embracing” – not just a hug with a pat – but a “hanging on” with both hands and a heart filled with love – and to do THAT to selflessness, sacrifice AND suffering? Wow. Jesus’s love is amazing – there are no words.
    King Solomon is deep… do you think we will be able to visit with him in heaven?
    I always think it’s so funny that people hate Mondays – I don’t think it’s the Monday, I think it’s the person… lol….
    Here are mine – kind of scattered but good ones I thought 

    “The American church seems to have lost its nerve. Leaders are stepping up to provide strategies of renewal and reform. If the sociologists are right, more and more people are becoming disappointed and disaffected with the church as it is and are increasingly marginalized… The gospel is not a consumer product; it doesn’t satisfy what we think of as our ‘needs’ ” – Run with the Horses by Eugene Peterson
    “She knew that you could love somebody more than anything and still not love that person all that much, if you were busy with other things” – Freedom by Jonathan Franzen
    “Mishaps are like knives that either serve us or cut us as we grasp them by the blade or the handle.” – James Russell Lowell
    “Our most important thoughts are those which contradict our emotions” – Ascribed to Ambroise-Paul-Toussaint-Jules Valery

    • REALLY LIKE – “The gospel is not a consumer product; it doesn’t satisfy what we think of as our ‘needs.” Eugene Peterson = so wise!

      The Franzen quote reminds me of a challenge of being there for someone. Sometimes, I find myself there physically but not really “there.”

      I’ve grabbed the blade many times. I’m a slow learner. 🙂

      Valery – Yes. True!

Leave a Reply

