Authority (2)

Jeremiah 1

Before I formed you in the womb I knew you, and before you were born I consecrated you; I appointed you a prophet to the nations…for to all to whom I send you, you shall go, and whatever I command you, you shall speak…  See I have set you this day over nations and over kingdoms, to pluck up and to break down, to destroy and to overthrow, to build and to plant.  – vs 5, 7, 10

Jeremiah was told what he must do.  God set his servant apart to speak God’s judgment against His people.  Although Jeremiah had reservations, God did not.  The prophet would speak on behalf of His God.  His authority would come from God.

There are many examples in Scripture of God calling His servants but just giving them enough information that they must act upon faith.  Examples are Abraham, Moses, Elijah, Jonah, Peter, and Paul. He wanted them to trust His authority. And these “pillars of faith” (although some were more stubborn than others) realized their authority was limited and led to chaos, whereas God’s authority brought peace and success. I can’t wait to talk to Paul about the Damascus road experience.

The last post on authority mentioned Watchman Nee’s idea of rebellion against authority being a bigger issue than sin. In other words, when authority is properly placed, sin wouldn’t be an issue. Listen to how Nee puts it. “What sets us totally free from Satan is the seeing of this most precious truth – that the kingdom is God’s.” (Pg. 11) And I say YES!

Jeremiah was told clearly that he would only be successful by following God’s authority. God knew him better than he knew himself. The message wasn’t going to be easy. In fact, it wouldn’t be heeded most of the time. And yet God commanded Jeremiah to speak the truth. You see, when you and I step out of the way, God will be glorified. When we put His will above our own God reigns. That’s the way it should be!

Any thoughts?

One Response to “Authority (2)”

  1. While reading I think: YES! I want to do this! I want to be TOTALLY free from Satan! I mean who doesn’t? Then I think… But how?… Step out of the way and do God’s will. How do I know that I am in His will? Am I listening to what He is commanding me to do? Do I really believe that the Kingdom is Gods? Yes? Live like it! – love the post – there is so much to think of, dig into, learn – eat, digest, and be nourished by! Wish I had all day.

Leave a Reply

