Authority (4)

As I’ve been reading Watchman Nee’s Spiritual Authority, we’ve been considering sin versus authority.  For this post, I want to turn our attention away from the theologian’s book towards Deuteronomy 28.

Submission to an authority obviously signals obedience.  Adam was given dominion over creation.  Yet to be given dominion, there had to be an authority over him.  God had the authority to give because He alone is all-powerful.  Adam (and then Eve) were expected to be obedient.

Another example would be Abram.  Abram was told (in Genesis 12) to leave all he knew and follow the one true God.  The Creator had authority and expected Abram to obey.  Now we turn to the commands of God to the Israelite nation.

And if you faithfully obey the voice of the LORD your God,

being careful to do all his commandments that I command you today,

the LORD your God will set you high above all the nations of the earth.

Deut. 28:1 (ESV)

If you’re not familiar with the text, the entire chapter speaks of the consequences of obedience and then the consequences of disobedience.  It might be helpful to read the entire chapter from time to time.  Trust me.  Disobedience results in some harmful life experience.

Here’s the point:  Because God maintains authority, He has every right to expect my obedience.  When you and I are disobedient, we are claiming our own authority.  It’s a place you and I have no business.

2 Responses to “Authority (4)”

  1. Amen to that. Too many disobedient instances in my life – large and small – never thought about my disobenience as being about claiming my own authority. I still had some excuse, some justification for disobedience .. Never even really called it disobedince… And now … now I wince at what it was, what it is – claiming my own authority (smh). And God is gracious enough to give me those consequences and allow me to continue to live – to chose to live for his glory and not mine. Great thoughts.

Leave a Reply

