Be YOUR Part!

I’m being stretched.  I believe that’s a good thing – but not always comfortable.  I want to be stretched.  Being stretched is the only way my flesh can become like Jesus.  So I hesitantly whisper, “Bring it on!” – while knowing this stretch may be more uncomfortable than the last.

What I mean by “stretched” is this: I’ve been caused to reevaluate my beliefs, practices, and way of living (often times on a daily basis).  The reason I have no problem with it is I believe it’s what Jesus had in mind.  “Love the Lord your God with all your heart, soul, strength, and mind.”

The last stretch has come over the last few years.  God has convicted me of the importance of Sabbath, of rest, of the idea that I can’t be all things to all people.  Someone is going to get offended.  Someone will always feel cheated.  Someone needs more attention than I can give.  That’s a fact.  And because of my personality, I attempted (for years) to be all things to all people.  When one lives like that, they are often disappointed.

No one is the Messiah – except Jesus Christ of course.  And He could be all things to all people.  But Satan convinces us of untruths.  And we try (and fail).  And we try again (and fail).  Eventually, God has said some pretty powerful words to me.  Ready?  Here they are.

JUST QUIT

That’s it.  Just quit.  Quit trying to be the Messiah.  Quit trying to be all things to all people.  Quit doing (or attempting to do) what I didn’t call you to do.  It’s not healthy.  And more important, it’s sin!

Think about it.  We do this to ourselves and to each other.  I recently read of someone in the Church ranting about how everyone should get involved in the ministry this particular person was called to.  The person went on and on about how everyone was all talk and no action.  Only what they didn’t know is others were carrying out their own ministries.

I was reminded of 1 Corinthians 12.

Now there are a variety of gifts, but the same Spirit; and there are varieties of service, but the same Lord; and there are varieties of activities, but it is the same God who empowers them all in everyone.  vss. 4-6 (ESV)

I AM NOT called by God to be a nursery worker (hear all the mothers celebrating?).  I AM NOT called to be an interior decorator (Can I get an amen?).  But Paul reminds us it’s okay.  I may not be called to do those things.  But someone else in “the body” will be.  My obligation as a follower of Christ is to determine what God’s calling is and follow that call.  Using the analogy Paul uses:  If God calls me to be hand, it’s going to be frustrating attempting to be a foot.  If I’m called to be an ear, be an ear.  After all, God is faithful to provide all the parts.  And who am I to use a guilt trip to force someone into someone they’re not?  Don’t be someone else’s part – just be your part!

Something to think about.  I hope you’re stretched.

5 Responses to “Be YOUR Part!”

  1. Sharon Graf Says:

    Very good!!! I am stretched everyday! We do not realize that we are sinning when we try and be everything. God is God and we are not!!

  2. I am always stretching MYSELF too thin, then wear myself out and I am no good for nothing until I get the rest that I deprived myself of. God doesn’t give us more than we can handle but we sure are good at doing that to ourselves. In all of this commotion that I put on myself, time seems to stop when I just quietly respond to what God directs me to do ( which in most cases is very very little as I measure it). Those moments are quietly awesome, powerful, and peaceful. Holding the door for someone who is struggling to get in, holding the hand of someone who is grieving so hard nothing makes sense. Letting someone pour out their emotions to you when you need not say a word. The truth happens when we give up control and witness the Holy Spirit at work. Who knows what that hug just meant, or holding someones hand, the truth is ….. only God knows. Letting Gods unfailing love show through us is the best that WE can ever do. I know I can not fix anyone,but I do know that I can be active when God asks me to show his love.

    • Great thought Diane. We talked about the mindset of Sabbath in Bible study Sunday. When that thought is taken captive, it changes virtually everything. Come share with the entire group at 9:30. Ha!

  3. It is ok to tell me that sternly, lol! See what I missed? I need to be there! Will see all of you at 9:30 this Sunday and I will be blessed.

Leave a Reply

