Eat Right!

WhopperThink for a moment.  What are you hungry for?  I mean what sounds good?  Right now.  I can’t count the number of times the conversation my wife and I have had.

What do you want to eat?  There’s so many choices.

I don’t care.  What do you want?

Doesn’t matter.  What sounds good?

Nothing really.  But I’m hungry.  Let’s try this!

No.  I don’t want that.  Let’s do something else.

Okay.  What do you want?

I don’t care.  What do you want?

You get the idea.  When it comes to eating, it’s tough to make a decision.  <Insert obese joke here.>  You realize I haven’t missed many meals.  So why is making a decision about what to eat so difficult?

But it’s not just us, right?  Most, if not all of us, have had similar discussions.  So many options.  And so little time.  So many choices.  And after all, who knows?  This might be our last meal.  At least I eat like it may be.

Thought:  Let’s move that discussion to a spiritual venue.

What do you want to study?  There’s so many choices.

I don’t care.  What do you want?

Doesn’t matter.  What sounds good?

Nothing really.  But I’m missing something.  Let’s try this!

No.  I don’t want that.  Let’s do something else.

Okay.  What do you want?

I don’t care.  What do you want?

And the beat goes on.  The world is full of noise.  Distractions.  Fast-food joints.  And sometimes, the junk food is allowed to overtake healthy choices – even in our spiritual decisions.  Are you following?  Our relationship with God should lead us to know what we want.  We should want what we need.  We should want to eat/study healthy things.

Satan is in the business of distractions.  He loves to focus our attention here.  Now there.  Over there.  Now here.

And sadly, many of us fall for his garbage.  And we are spiritually unhealthy.  Our spiritual cholesterol would be through the roof.  We haven’t exercised in weeks or months.  And I don’t know when the last time we broke a real sweat.

Jesus said it this way.  Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness, for they shall be satisfied.  Mt 5:6

It’s time we stop going through the spiritual drive through.  It’s time we stop eating spiritual fast-food!

One Response to “Eat Right!”

  1. Nice and interesting way of expressing that thought. Love how you bring in Jesus’ words of that passage in Matthew 5:6 in the end. Good stuff to chew on.

Leave a Reply

