In His Time

clock In the last post, I mentioned God not always answering the way we want.  He doesn’t follow our time schedule.  In other words, the God of Abraham, Isaac, and Jacob cannot be manipulated (unlike many of the false gods pagan nations worship).  Sure, we try.  But we’re unsuccessful.

We live in a world of impatience.  It’s a constant battle to fight selfish desires.  It’s even harder to not believe the world’s counsel, “I deserve __________.”  Perhaps the best example is a current J.G. Wentworth commercial.  Have you seen it?  The catch-phrase is, “It’s my money.  And I want it NOW!”  It’s all about me and I know what’s best – at least that’s the thought.  And sadly, that’s the way many of us live.

Recently, a “theme” around here has come up time and time again.  Be still, and know that I am God. (Ps 46:10)  In other words, I think He’s got this thing figured out.  And as much as I hate to admit it, He doesn’t need my help.  Does He allow me to do things?  Sure.  In fact, He expects me to do some things.  But manipulation has never been nor will ever be part of the equation.

Here’s another to consider.  This time from Psalm 28:14.  Wait for the LORD; be strong, and let your heart take courage; wait for the LORD!  It seems the Psalmist thought he should write that twice.  Did you catch the grammar?  It’s what we call the imperative.  So it’s not, “Would you please wait?”  The grammar isn’t, “I’d really like you to…” or “I suggest…”  It’s WAIT!  In Psalm 46, the command is “Be still!”  They’re both commands.  Commands to put all your trust in God.  Acknowledge the truth of God being all-knowing and always on time.

There’s a song that goes back to the late ’70s.  Remember In His Time?

In His time.  In His time.

He makes all things beautiful in His time.

Lord please show me everyday, as you’re teaching me Your way,

That you do just what You say.  In Your time.

In Your time.  In Your time.

You make all things beautiful in Your time.

Lord my life to You I bring.

May each song I have to sing, be to you a lovely thing, in Your time.

Lord please show me everyday as you’re teaching me Your way

that You do just what You say in Your time.

In your time, in your time.

You make all things beautiful in Your time.

Lord, my life to you I bring, 

May each song that I sing be to You a lovely thing.

In Your time.

I challenge you to be still.  I challenge you to wait.  Give up the worry and let God do His thing.

4 Responses to “In His Time”

  1. I am such a control freak! But God has shown me time and time again, that he has amazing plans for me and that his timing is perfect! Yet I still fight for control, I am very blessed every time I rely on him and not myself.

    • We’re all control freaks Diane. I want what I want. And that makes me a sinner. So Paul says to put to death those things. Give up control and let God have control. That’s the constant battle. Love ya!

  2. My husband and I decided to run in a different scenery today and 5 miles in I allowed my shoulders to relax… Taking deep breaths of the cool fall air, I actually closed my eyes and for a little while I felt as if I was flying. Oh the fleeting moments that we allow ourselves to release control… The God who spoke all things into existence… Loves me. Knows the number of hairs on my head. Gathers my tears. Works all things for my good. I want to reside in this freedom of His amazing love not just in fleeting moments.

Leave a Reply

