Lord?

So I’m reading through the Sermon on The Mount (Mt 5-7) this morning.  Have you read it recently?  I was struck (again) by 5:29-30 that reads, If your right eye causes you to sin, tear it out and throw it away.  For it is better that you lose one of your members than that your whole body be thrown into hell.  And if your right hand causes you to sin, cut it off and throw it away.  For it is better that you lose one of your members than that your whole body go into hell. (ESV)

We don’t see many people without eyes do we?  Although I once had a man attempt to hand me his glass eye, that’s a story for another day.  I don’t see many one-handed people walking around.  So what gives?  Was Jesus being literal here in the greatest sermon ever given?  What exactly did He mean?

Sin is definitely a “heart issue.”  So a blind man can lust.  A man without a hand can still be a thief.  But in the text, Jesus is using metaphors to make the point of taking drastic measures to avoid temptation.  Sin leads to death (Rom 6:23).  Therefore, something drastic must be done.  Sin that is allowed to exist leads to judgment.

So I’m reflecting on what needs to be removed?  What sin must be dismissed so genuine peace might reign?  What am I willing to do away with?

Those are tough questions.  Sure, they’re easy to read.  But to honestly answer?  I’d rather do something else.  The fact of the matter is: Anything that is allowed to come between a relationship with me and God is idolatry and must be destroyed.  Not being willing to do away with that sin points to what/who is truly Lord.

So what are you hanging on to?  What is it that you have held on to for so long that you believe defines you?  Maybe in and of itself, it’s a good thing.  But anything, ANYTHING that is more important than God must be dealt with.  Question:  Are you willing to do away with it?

2 Responses to “Lord?”

  1. Guilty! But praise God for never giving up on me! I am learning not only how to listen better, but be obedient better too. I started reading Matthew last night and stopped at 4:25 was tired and decided to read further this evening. I have been working on some issues that I have battled through out life, and God seems to be around every corner, showing me! Thank you for this post, went ahead and continued my reading, God was right there giving me encouragement as I read it. God’s timing is perfect and always good! When he reveals the hard truth to us we don’t want to accept it, but if we are obedient and make changes having faith that the outcome is not only good, but best, we begin to rely more and more on him through our walk.

    • We’re all guilty Diane. And as you say, I’m grateful for God’s grace. God knows what we need when we need it. I’m grateful He chose to use this post. Love you!

Leave a Reply

