Horn Of Plenty (1)

A rare post on Sunday morning.  But because of the weather, we’re unable to meet as a church family.  Over the next week, I’m going to post a few thoughts from a sermon that was to be preached today.  I pray you’re challenged!

First of all, think about your blessings. 

When upon life’s billows you are tempest-tossed,
When you are discouraged, thinking all is lost,
Count your many blessings, name them one by one,
And it will surprise you what the Lord hath done.

Are you ever burdened with a load of care?
Does the cross seem heavy you are called to bear?
Count your many blessings, every doubt will fly,
And you will keep singing as the days go by.

So, amid the conflict whether great or small,
Do not be discouraged, God is over all;
Count your many blessings, angels will attend,
Help and comfort give you to your journey’s end.

Count your blessings, name them one by one,
Count your blessings, see what God hath done!
Count your blessings, name them one by one,
*Count your many blessings, see what God hath done.
[*And it will surprise you what the Lord hath done.]

Those words were written by John Oatman in 1897.  But they ring true today as well.  Some of you were singing, weren’t you?

cornucopiaAre you familiar with the word “cornucopia”?  It’s from the Latin and describes what you see.  The basket is in the shape of a horn and when empty, is simply a basket.  However, when filled with a harvest, it becomes a “Horn of Plenty.”  The recognition of one’s blessings makes it easy to fill the basket.  Sadly, though, instead of focusing on our blessings, we often focus on our troubles.

At church every Sunday, you have an opportunity to offer praises before the prayer concerns.  Are you more concerned with your troubles or are you focusing more on your blessings?

Secondly, a Horn of Plenty is meant to be shared.  In other words, it’s not just for you.  It’s for those around you.  Your blessings are meant to be shared with others.  After all, we are simply stewards of all God owns.  Are you willing to share what God has done for you?

More tomorrow.  Stay warm and safe.  Worship today.  And think about a Horn of Plenty.

4 Responses to “Horn Of Plenty (1)”

  1. We often think of how we can share goods, food, talents, all good!
    I need to get better about sharing the amazing ways he is transforming my life! Thanks for this post! God is good!

  2. 10 I rejoiced greatly in the Lord that at last you renewed your concern for me. Indeed, you were concerned, but you had no opportunity to show it. 11 I am not saying this because I am in need, for I have learned to be content whatever the circumstances. 12 I know what it is to be in need, and I know what it is to have plenty. I have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation, whether well fed or hungry, whether living in plenty or in want. 13 I can do all this through him who gives me strength.

    14 Yet it was good of you to share in my troubles. 15 Moreover, as you Philippians know, in the early days of your acquaintance with the gospel, when I set out from Macedonia, not one church shared with me in the matter of giving and receiving, except you only; 16 for even when I was in Thessalonica, you sent me aid more than once when I was in need. 17 Not that I desire your gifts; what I desire is that more be credited to your account. 18 I have received full payment and have more than enough. I am amply supplied, now that I have received from Epaphroditus the gifts you sent. They are a fragrant offering, an acceptable sacrifice, pleasing to God. 19 And my God will meet all your needs according to the riches of his glory in Christ Jesus.

    20 To our God and Father be glory for ever and ever. Amen.

    Post reminded me of Philippian 4 – We share of our blessings. And like Diane said – people often think of this as something material – which is always a good thing, but it also includes the blessings we have recieved in suffering and/or experiences; that with those things we can uplift others. Paul received material blessings from the church and he gave in return the blessings he had received in his ministry sin the letters he would send to them.

    Good things to ponder.

    • And Paul wrote that from prison. I often wonder if we really understand what it means to be content. Also note verse 13 (which is so often taken out of context).

      Again, it helps me to focus on what I have is not really mine. I’m simply an overseer for what God owns. It changes everything!

Leave a Reply

