Sheep andGoats (3)

We’re talking about discipleship and particularly looking at how Christ portrayed what we should do.  To follow Christ means to do what He did.  So what did He do?

Among many things, Christ offered hope in a broken world.  As He ascends back to heaven, He commissions the Church to do the same.  This past Sunday, our body of believers observed Isaiah 42:1-9.  The text speaks of a coming Messiah bringing justice several times.  Justice is setting things right – offering peace among the chaos, encouragement to the discouraged, and hope to the hopeless.  Do you think the Jews sought peace, encouragement, and hope?  You’d be smart to bet the farm!  Although Jesus “redefined” Messiah for the Jews, in hindsight they would have to admit that he offered all of the above.

The prophet then turns his attention to the people of God.  They are called to offer peace, encouragement, hope, etc.  They are said to open the eyes that are blind, to bring out the prisoners from the dungeon, and to release prisoners.  Perhaps this reminds you of the Great Commission in Matthew 28.  Jesus says to His followers, “Go and do what I’ve done.”  That’s a paraphrase of course.

I’ve always been taken back by what He calls us to do.  He knows the Church is comprised of sinful and broken people.  Yet He tells us to do what He has done, is doing, and will do.  Despite who we are, God allows us to be a part of His great plan.  How can I open blind eyes?  How do I bring prisoners out of a dark place much less release them?  I think the answer relies in not in who I am, but in who He is.  As a matter of fact, I know that’s where the answer is.  My responsibility is to notice where God is already working and join Him there.  When that happens, good things result.

So who in your life needs peace among chaos?  Who needs your encouragement to put one foot in front of the other?  Who will you lead out of bondage?  You may feel ill-equipped.  You are!  But you can provide peace, encouragement, and freedom by pointing to Christ.  In other words, it’s okay not to have all of the answers.  It’s not okay to wring your hands and offer no peace, no encouragement, and no hope.  It’s not okay to let them figure it out for themselves.  What they do with the truth is up to them.  Let God do His part.  Will you do yours?

4 Responses to “Sheep andGoats (3)”

  1. We are all given different talents and after a lifetime God will return to see what we have done with them. I want to be led (and be obedient) to multiply what he has entrusted in me and not end up blaming God or others for hiding them.

    Bring prisoners out of the dungeons when I am in shackles ? Yes. Because this prison of the earthly world is not my home but I have hope in the belief that Jesus – God made man – died and was resurrected and I too will fly away home. That is my hope. That brings me peace.

    It is not always easy. I fail a lot. But I praise God for my brothers and sisters who, often unknowingly, pick me up with encouragement in their walk, in their experiences, in what God reveals to them and they share with me.

    Best truth in the world: God is already working In ALL of us..

    He entrusts me, equips me, invites me – to be a part of it. It’s so simply, awesomely, true!

    Thanks for sharing!

  2. I am so hard headed at times, and mess things up, and I know better! But do it anyway. Not giving God credit for who he is! And I know better than that! Like Paul said….

    For I don’t understand my own actions. For I do not do what I want, but I do the very thing I hate.

    (Mike’s last post)

    I am thankful for a forgiving God and even more thankful for an all knowing God, and all I have to do is listen, and act when he asks me to, (in his way not mine) I do not need to know the details. He is the head and I am suppose to be the hands and feet.

    Maria, I sure do agree with you! I also praise God for my brothers and sisters in Christ who are constantly there to encourage me. I know I am blessed!

    My prayer is to get my head out of it, put my hands and feet into it, and praise God for the privilege!

Leave a Reply

