Swapping Tables

I’m not much for resolutions, but I think goals are vital to life.  Is that a contradiction?

What I mean is this:  Resolutions focus on the upcoming year but often times those new-found commitments end after a few weeks.  Resolutions seem to appeal to individuals – their hopes, dreams, desires, etc.  You might resolve to lose weight, quit smoking, exercise more, etc.  But most seem narcissistic.

On the other hand, Jesus said, …I came that they may have life and have it abundantly. (Jn 10:10)  Living an abundant life should be our goal – living a life that’s full.  So we must define the abundant life the way He defines it.  In other words, my life is not my own.  My goals can’t be focused on me!  My selfishness must be destroyed.  That’s not narcissistic at all.  In fact, it’s the opposite.

So here’s one of my goals for 2014.  I’m making an exchange.  From this,

buffet

to this.

Bible

Don’t get the wrong idea.  I’m not giving up food.  That would never happen!  🙂  But I do want to make better choices.  Although I will benefit from making better choices on what I consume, in the long-term, my family benefits, my church benefits, everyone around me benefits.  They benefit because of conscious decisions that I make.  I’ve also told our church I’m praying that we all have a new hunger and thirst for God’s Word.  Ezekiel 2:8 reads, …open your mouth and eat what I give you.  Jesus himself said, Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness, for they shall be satisfied.  (Matt 5:6)  That’s the “table” I’m more interested in.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

