Blessed Despite…

…my cup overflows.  Psalm 23:5

It’s already February 6!  It seems like yesterday that we were talking about resolutions, turning the calendar, and attempting to get used to seeing “14” on our checks and other paperwork.  Yet here we are in February.  As our folks said, time seems to go faster the older we get.

I was reading through Psalm 23 this morning and ran across the phrase above.  My cup overflows.  My.  Cup.  Overflows.

It’s really amazing what David writes.  He’s recognizing his blessings.  If you’re aware of David’s life, and particularly his running to survive, this phrase is even more impressive.

I’m convinced that because we are so focused on internal things – things that impact us, things that are close – we lose sight of our blessings.

I’ve been blessed to be busy these past few weeks.  But I’m not any busier than many of you.  Yet, if I’m not intentional about recognizing those blessings, I’m quick to look around me and eventually whine about those things that impact me.

God knows what I need and has always provided.  I pray I will always see the blessings clearly.  And the challenges, may they be seen as opportunities to grow as well.  My cup overflows!

One Response to “Blessed Despite…”

  1. denislater@aol.com Says:

    Love this reminder…been feeling a bit overwhelmed with upcoming “to-do’s” myself and yet if I pause for just a moment…blessings abound so much greater and bigger!! MY cup runneth over also!!

    God Bless and have a great day! Denise

    PS: Thanks for prayers for Katelynn and her fellow students traveling today!

Leave a Reply

